RWD Museum

The Hot Wheels Legends Tour returns to Malaysia for the second time. Held in collaboration with Art of Speed Malaysia, the event is one leg of a global search for a custom vehicle worthy of becoming a Hot Wheels die-cast car. The winner of the Malaysian finals will represent the country on a global stage, going up against the winners from the other legs of the Hot Wheels Legends Tour. The overall winner will see their design inducted into the Hot Wheels Garage of Legends and turned into a 1:64 die-cast car to be sold – and played with by kids of all ages – around the world.

163 entries this year
Like last year, the judging panel, made up of Hot Wheels global designers as well as local guest judges, will shortlist the Top 12 entries. This year, 163 entries have been submitted for the Malaysian finals – more than double the number submitted in 2020. The Top 12 Malaysian finalists offer a great mix of cars from across the globe – with representation from Japanese, German, Italian, and even Malaysian car brands. Each submission will be judged on Authenticity, how closely the car embodies the Hot Wheels spirit; Creativity, how well the design stands out from the rest; and Garage Spirit, how well the design exemplifies the attitude of ‘built not bought’.

Hot Wheels Legends Tour 2021
1987 Toyota Cressida (Elden Schrock)
Hot Wheels Legends Tour 2021
2012 Honda Accord (Kathires Thanabal)

The finalists are: Lee Ming Hui (Audi TT Mk 2), Sofyan Darmadi (1969 VW Beetle Vandetta), Norsayang bin Ngatiman (1968 Toyota Corolla KE10), Addison Victor Liew Kian Tek (1980 Mazda RX7/Savanna), Jeffrey Teoh (2008 Ferrari 430), Karrthikan Amerudalingam (1997 Proton Wira 1.5 GL), Abdul Wahab bin Bahari (1986 Daihatsu Mira Walkthrough Van), Elden Schrock (1987 Toyota Cressida), Mohd Iltizam bin Mohamad Sokri (1990 Toyota Estima), Tham Kheng Ming (2002 Toyota MRS Spyder), Norman Ng (2014 Porsche Boxster 981), and Kathires Thanabal (2012 Honda Accord).

The judging team
The Hot Wheels designers on the judging team are Brendon Vetuskey, the current lead designer for the Monster Trucks die-cast and the Red Line Club vehicles; Manson Cheung, a Hot Wheels 3D Modeler best known for his sculpting work; and Sam Kok, a Hot Wheels designer currently the key lead package designer for Mattel.

Hot Wheels Legends Tour 2021
2008 Ferrari 430 (Jeffrey Teoh)
Hot Wheels Legends Tour 2021
1997 Proton Wira 1.5 GL (Karrthikan Amerudalingam)
Hot Wheels Legends Tour 2021
2002 Toyota MRS Spyder (Tham Kheng Ming)

Guest judges from Malaysia
They will be joined by local guests who will also be involved in the judging process. There will be three guests – Christian Coujin, well known in the community for his collection of RWB cars and enthusiasm for all things custom or modified; Tengku Djan, the professional drift driver; and Azrina Jane Abdullah, a skilled drift and circuit racing driver.

The Malaysian finals will be livestreamed from the RWB Museum in Johor Bahru and scheduled for Sunday, October 17, 2021 at 8 pm.

Ravinder Singh’s ‘Mercenary’ chosen as best of Malaysian entries for Hot Wheels Legends Tour



Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on YouTube