WTCR: Norbert Michelisz is the King of WTCR!

Global News Motorsports Motorsports News WTCR

The third and final race of the 2019 FIA World Touring Car Cup (WTCR) was nothing short of a spectacular turn of events as Norbert Michelisz (BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse) was able to secure the driver’s championship title and crowned the King of WTCR after finishing in fifth place.

Michelisz battled through the pack, including his closest rival for the crown, Esteban Guerrieri (ALL-INKL.COM Münnich Motorsport). Guerrieri actually pulled a show-stopper in Race 2 with a win and dropping the gap down to only 10 points between him and Michelisz but a minor contact in Race 3 saw him forced to the grass in his Honda Civic TCR before losing power and dropping down to P22.

Johan Kristoffersson (Sébastien Loeb Racing Volkswagen) took advantage of the whole situation and crossed the chequered flag in the first position followed by Mikel Azcona (PWR Racing) in P2 and Kevin Ceccon (Mulsanne Sri) in P3.

The drama-filled Race 3 also sealed the deal for the Cyan Racing Lynk & Co to win the overall team championship title with a total of 628 points. Their maiden season in WTCR showed their dominance against other top teams with years of experience. There’s no doubt that they’ll be bringing the fight into the 2020 season, especially with all the experiences obtained in this season.

Leave a Reply