Malaysia Expands Open Payment Toll System to Six More Highways

Starting in September, six additional highways in Malaysia will implement the open payment toll collection system (SPT). This expansion is part of an effort to make toll payments more convenient and efficient for motorists, allowing payments to be made using credit and debit cards in addition to the existing Touch ’n Go, SmartTag, and RFID options.

According to Bernama, Works Minister Alexander Nanta Linggi announced that these six highways will join the 12 highways that have already been using the SPT system since its launch last year. This inclusion will bring the total number of lanes equipped with the SPT system to 35. The highways that will adopt the system include:

1. North-South Expressway (PLUS/Thailand-Singapore, 770 km)
2. Seremban-Port Dickson Highway (SPDH, 23 km)
3. Linkedua Highway (Singapore-Malaysia, 47 km)
4. Grand Saga Highway (Cheras-Kajang, 11.5 km)
5. Grand Sepadu (North Port-Bukit Raja Klang, 17.5 km)
6. Setiawangsa-Pantai Expressway (SPE/North to South KL, 30 km)

Previously, the SPT system was implemented on the following highways:

1. Duta-Ulu Kelang Expressway (Duke)
2. Damansara-Puchong Expressway (LDP)
3. West KL Traffic Dispersal Scheme (SPRINT)
4. Shah Alam Expressway (Kesas)
5. SMART Tunnel
6. Kuala Lumpur-Putrajaya Expressway (MEX)
7. Sungai Besi Highway
8. New Pantai Expressway (NPE)
9. Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (Akleh)
10. Guthrie Corridor Highway
11. Penang Bridge
12. Butterworth-Kulim Expressway (BKE)

The Works Minister highlighted that the open payment system aims to facilitate faster and easier toll payments for motorists, enhancing overall user convenience and efficiency on Malaysian highways.

Fuelled by cigarettes, coffee and 90's rock music

Related Articles